New Student Offer- Use Code HELLO

Register Now

Kazuo Ishiguro wins 2017 Nobel Prize for Literature

Published on October 06, 2017
English writer Kazuo Ishiguro has been awarded the Nobel Literature Prize for 2017

  • He had won the Man Booker Prize in 1989 for his novel The Remains of the Day
  • With eight books and several screenplays and short stories to his credit, Ishiguro is among the most celebrated contemporary writers.
  • The Nobel prize for literature comes with winnings of 9m Swedish krona (£832,000). 
  • Kazuo Ishiguro is a British novelist, screenwriter and short story writer. 
  • He was born in Nagasaki, Japan; his family moved to England in 1960 when he was five. 
  • Ishiguro graduated from the University of Kent with a bachelor's degree in English and Philosophy in 1978 and gained his Master's from the University of East Anglia's creative writing course in 1980.
  • Ishiguro is one of the most celebrated contemporary fiction authors in the English-speaking world
  • His 2005 novel, Never Let Me Go, was named by Time as the best novel of 2005 and included in its list of the 100 best English-language novels from 1923 to 2005. His seventh novel, The Buried Giant, was published in 2015.

Can I help you?

ramandeep singh

Hey I am Ramandeep Singh. I am determined to help students preparing for RBI, SEBI, NABARD and IBPS exams. Do you want me to help you ?

Join my class here
    Follow me:
Close Menu
Close Menu