Rajkummar Rao Wins Best Actor Award for Newton at APSA

Published on November 24, 2017
Newton has secured two wins at the Asia Pacific Screen Awards in Brisbane.

  • Rajkummar Rao won the best actor award and Mayank Tewari and Amit V. Masurkar claimed the best screenplay honour.
  • Nata Murvandizem, the star of Scary Mother (Sashishi Deda), won the best actress award.
  • Manipuri movie Lady of the Lake won a special mention.
  • Newton is India’s official entry for the foreign language film category at the Oscar Award 2018.
  • It is produced by Drishyam Films and directed by Masurkar.
  • The movie revolves around a young government clerk who is sent on election duty to a Maoist-controlled town and how the ideological struggle puts him in an awkward situation.
  • Warwick Thornton's Sweet Country has won the best feature honor at the event.

Other Awardees

  • Scary Mother and Dede: Cultural Diversity Award
  • The Seen and The Unseen:  Best Youth feature Film Award 
  • Window Horses: The Poetic Persian Epiphany of Rosie Ming:  Best Animated Feature Honor
  • Andrey Zvyagintsev: Best Director for Loveless
  • Pyotr Duhovskoy and Timofey Lobov: Best Cinematography for The Bottomless Bag 
  • Syria’s Last Men in Aleppo: The best documentary 

Can I help you?

ramandeep singh

Hey I am Ramandeep Singh. I am determined to help students preparing for RBI, SEBI, NABARD and IBPS exams. Do you want me to help you ?

Join my class here
    Follow me:
Close Menu
Close Menu