Current Affairs

Same-Sex Marriage Lagalised in Australia

After a two-month survey, Australia has legalised same-sex marriage.

  • Results released by the Australian Bureau of Statistics revealed 61% of the population voted to allow same-sex marriage, with 38% voting against.
  • 2.7 million people took part in the survey with every state and territory returning a majority "yes."
  • The LGBT community of Australia celebrated the decision and people praised the historic decision which will lead to an equality in the country and LGBT community will earn respect in the society.
  • Australian Prime Minister Malcolm Turnbull and Attorney General George Brandis hope and expect marriage equality will be law by Christmas.
  • The first law providing for the marriage of people of the same sex in modern times was enacted in 2001 in the Netherlands.

Countries that legalise Same-Sex Marriage in 2017

As of 15 November 2017, same-sex marriage is legally recognized in the following countries: Argentina
  1. Belgium
  2. Brazil
  3. Canada
  4. Colombia
  5. Denmark
  6. Finland
  7. France
  8. Germany
  9. Iceland
  10. Ireland
  11.  Luxembourg
  12. Malta, 
  13. Mexico
  14. Netherlands
  15. New Zealand
  16. Norway
  17. Portugal
  18. South Africa
  19. Spain
  20. Sweden
  21. United Kingdom
  22. United States
  23. Uruguay. 
Same-Sex Marriage Lagalised in Australia Same-Sex Marriage Lagalised in Australia Reviewed by Admin on November 15, 2017 Rating: 5

No comments:

Join 8,000+ readers and get free notes in your email