Election Day- Use Code DEMOCRACY24

Register Now

Tamil Nadu’s Ranganathaswamy Temple wins UNESCO Award

Published on November 08, 2017
Sri Ranganathaswamy Temple in Srirangam of Tamil Nadu has won the UNESCO Asia Pacific Award of Merit 2017 for cultural heritage conservation.

  • It has become the first temple in Tamil Nadu to be given the prestigious award from the UN body. 
  • The use of traditional methods in renovating temple structures and re-establishment of rainwater harvesting and historic drainage system, to augment water and prevent flooding, fetch this award to the temple
  • The temple is situated on an islet between Cauvery and Kollidam rivers. 
  • It has seven prakaras and 21 towers, including the 236-feet-high rajagopuram.
  • There were about 42 applications from 43 countries for the 2017 UNESCO Asia-Pacific Awards for Cultural Heritage Conservation. 
  • The other monuments which received the award in India are Mumbai's Christ Church and Royal Bombay Opera House under Award of Merit category

List of other Awardees

Award of Distinction:
  • Brookman and Moir Streets Precinct, Perth, Australia
  • Holy Trinity Cathedral, Shanghai, China
Award of Merit:
  • Christ Church, Mumbai, India
  • Royal Bombay Opera House, Mumbai, India
  • Sri Ranganathaswamy Temple, Srirangam, India
  • Great Hall and Clock Tower Buildings, Arts Centre, Christchurch, New Zealand
Honourable Mention:
  • Bomonjee Hormarjee Wadia Fountain and Clock Tower, Mumbai, India
  • Gateways of Gohad Fort, Gohad, India
  • Haveli Dharampura, Delhi, India
  • Wellington Fountain, Mumbai, India
  • Aftab Cultural House, Isfahan, Iran
  • Cathedral of the Good Shepherd and Rectory Building, Singapore
New Design in Heritage Contexts:
  • Jingdezhen Ceramic Industry Museum, Jingdezhen, China
  • Macha Village, Gansu Province, China
  • Persian Gulf University – Faculty of Art & Architecture, Bulshehr, Iran

UNESCO Asia Pacific Heritage Awards

  • UNESCO Asia Pacific Heritage Awards are given since 2000
  • The objective is to motivate the protection of Cultural Heritage sites, which are initiated by any individual organization under private sector or institutional organization.
The Awards consist of five categories
  • Award of Excellence.
  • Award of Distinction.
  • Award of Merit.
  • Honourable Mention.
  • Award for New Design in Heritage Contexts
ebook store

About us

ramandeep singh

Ramandeep Singh, your guide to banking and insurance exams. With 14 years of experience and 5000+ selections, Ramandeep understands the path to success, having transitioned himself from Dena Bank and SBI. He's passionate about helping you achieve your banking and insurance dreams.

  • Follow me:
Close Menu
Close Menu