New Students Offer - Use Code HELLO

Register Now

India Win Blind Cricket World Cup 2018

Published on January 22, 2018
The Indian cricket team won the blind world cup 2018 by beating arch-rivals Pakistan by 2 wickets in the final.
India win Blind Cricket World Cup 2018
  • Chasing a target of 308 runs in
  • 40 overs at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium in UAE on Saturday, the Indian team reached there with 8 balls remaining.
  • It was India’s second title at the mega event as earlier they won World Cup, outclassing Pakistan at Cape Town, South Africa in December 2014.
  • Sunil Ramesh was the star performer for India in the Blind World Cup 2018 final, scoring 93 runs while captain Ajay Reddy also smashed 63 runs, helping India successfully defend the title.
  • India, who were favourites to retain the title, remained unbeaten in this tournament.
  • This was the fifth edition of the Blind Cricket World Cup competition and the arch-rivals were facing each oth
  • er third time in the final. In 2006, Pakistan had defeated India to lift the trophy in Islamabad.

Blind cricket

  • Blind cricket is a version of the sport of cricket adapted for blind and partially sighted players.
  • It has been governed by the World Blind Cricket Council (WBCC) since 1996.
  • Five Blind World Cups have been held until now with South Africa winning the maiden title in 1998.
  • Pakistan won the next two times in 2002 and 2006 while India got the better of Pakistan in the finals of 2014 and 2018 editions.
  • India also won the first two editions of the Blind T20 World Cup held in 2012 and 2017 in Bangalore by defeating Pakistan in the finals on

Can I help you?

ramandeep singh

Hey I am Ramandeep Singh. I am determined to help students preparing for RBI, SEBI, NABARD and IBPS exams. Do you want me to help you ?

Join my class here
    Follow me:
Close Menu
Close Menu