Maha Shivratri Offer- Use Code SHIVRATRI24

Register Now

Virat Kohli named ICC Cricketer of the Year

Published on January 20, 2018
Indian captain Virat Kohli swept the top honours at the ICC Awards 2017, clinching the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy after being adjudged the ICC Cricketer of the Year and ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year.
Virat Kohli named ICC Cricketer of the Year
  • Kohli was also named the captain of both the Test as well as the ODI team of the year.
  • Kohli had scored 2203 Test runs at an average of 77.80, with eight centuries; 1818 ODI runs at 82.63, including seven hundred and 299 T20I runs at a stunning strike rate of 153 during the qualifying period.(September ‘16 to September ’17)
  • Australian Test captain Steve Smith has been awarded ICC Test Cricketer of the Year for his 1875 runs with 8 hundred and 5 fifties.
  • Last year, Ravichandran Ashwin had won the ICC Cricketer of the Year Award.
  • Pakistan's Hasan Ali was named ICC's Emerging Player of the Year.
  • Afghanistan's spin sensation Rashid Khan won the ICC Associate Cricketer of the Year for his record 60 wickets in the calendar year.
  • Marais Erasmus, for the second year in succession, was awarded the ICC Umpire of the Year.
  • Pakistan's Champions Trophy triumph in England, defeating India in the finals, has won the inaugural award of ICC Fans' Moment of the Year.
  • Yuzvendra Chahal's 6 for 25 against England in Bangalore 2017 won him the T20 Performance of the Year.
  • England pacer Anya Shrubsole's iconic moment of sportsmanship - as she consoled South African skipper Dane van Niekerk - after the teams' gripping Women's World Cup semifinal won her the ICC Spirit of Cricket Award.
  • 3 Indians were included in the Test Team of the Year and ODI Team of the Year respectively with Virat to lead both the sides. 
  • ICC Test Team of the Year 2017: Dean Elgar, David Warner, Virat Kohli (c), Steve Smith, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ben Stokes, Quinton de Kock (wk), R Ashwin, Mitchell Starc, Kagiso Rabada, James Anderson.
  • ICC ODI Team of the Year 2017: David Warner, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli (c), Babar Azam, AB de Villiers, Quinton de Kock (wk), Ben Stokes, Trent Boult, Hasan Ali, Rashid Khan, Jasprit Bumrah.

Can I help you?

ramandeep singh

Hey I am Ramandeep Singh. I am determined to help students preparing for RBI, SEBI, NABARD and IBPS exams. Do you want me to help you ?

Join my class here
    Follow me:
Close Menu
Close Menu