New Students Offer - Use Code HELLO

Register Now

N Gopalaswami Committee to Select Top 20 Educational Institutes of Eminence

Published on February 22, 2018
Former Chief Election Commission N Gopalaswami of India along with a panel of top international and Indian academicians will shortlist India's best higher educational institutes. The selected institutes will be prepared to aim at the international glory.

N Gopalaswami Committee to Select Top 20 Educational Institutes of Eminence

About the panel

  • The University Grant Commission of India formed a four-member expert committee and assigned the task to conduct the evaluation of the application by the institute and then shortlist the 20 Institute of Eminence. 
  • The committee was constituted as per the UGC (Institutions of Eminence Deemed to be Universities) Regulation 2017 and UGC (Declaration of Government Educational Institutions as Institutions of Eminence) Guidelines 2017.

Members of the committee

  • N Gopalaswami is the chairperson 
  • Tarun Khanna, Jorge Paulo Lemman Professor, Harvard Business School
  • Pritam Singh, former director of IIM, Lucknow and MDI, Gurugram
  • Renu Khator, chancellor, University of Houston System

Institutions of Eminence

  • It is a flagship project for internationalisation of Indian campuses launched by the Ministry of Human Resource Development on September 2017.
  • By March-April 2018, 20 (10 each from the public and private category) institutions will be accorded the status of 'Institutions of Eminence' with a mandate to achieve world-class status over a period of 10 years.


As per the guidelines issued by the UGC, those institutions in the top 50 of the National Institute Ranking Framework (NIRF) rankings or those who have secured ranking among top 500 of the Times Higher Education World University Rankings, QS University Rankings or Shanghai Ranking Academic Ranking of World Universities are eligible to apply.


The IoE group will enjoy unprecedented administrative and financial autonomy in a wide range of matters, including faculty and staff salaries, student fees, course offerings and content, among others. Other than adhere to a reasonably flexible set of guidelines, they will also be completely free of University Grants Commission (UGC) regulations.

Expected Questions

1. N Gopalaswami Committee to select Top 20 Educational Institutes of Eminence was formed by
a. Planning Commission
b. University Grant Commission
c. Knowledge Commission
d. Staff Selection Commission

2. Who is the head of the committee formed to select Top 20 Educational Institutes of Eminence?
a. K Narayan
b. P Subbarao
c. D Chaitnya
d.  N Gopalaswami

Can I help you?

ramandeep singh

Hey I am Ramandeep Singh. I am determined to help students preparing for RBI, SEBI, NABARD and IBPS exams. Do you want me to help you ?

Join my class here
    Follow me:
Close Menu
Close Menu