Maha Shivratri Offer- Use Code SHIVRATRI24

Register Now

Myanmar Elects Win Myint as New President

Published on March 30, 2018
Win Myint has been elected as the 10th President of Myanmar by the parliament. Myint is a loyalist of Aung San Suu Kyi who has retained her executive authority over the government.

Win Myint has been appointed for the role after former president Htin Kyaw suddenly stepped down last week, citing his health issues

About Win Myint

Win Myint was born on 8 November 1951. He is a Burmese politician and former political prisoner. He was the Speaker of the House of Representatives of Myanmar from 2016 to 2018. 

Political Career

He was prisoned for his role in the 8888 Uprising. He won a Pyithu Hluttaw, lower house seat in Pathein constituency in 2012 and going on to become secretary of parliament’s rule of law committee. In the Myanmar general election, 2015, he was elected as Pyithu Hluttaw MP for Tamwe Township. He served as the Speaker of the House of Representatives of Myanmar from 2016 to 2018.

Expected Questions

Who among the following has been recently appointed as the President of Myanmar?
a. Win Thakin
b. Win Myint 
c. Win Sao
d. Win Nang

Can I help you?

ramandeep singh

Hey I am Ramandeep Singh. I am determined to help students preparing for RBI, SEBI, NABARD and IBPS exams. Do you want me to help you ?

Join my class here
    Follow me:
Close Menu
Close Menu