New Student Offer- Use Code HELLO

Register Now

Himanta Biswa Sarma Elected as President of Badminton Association of India

Published on April 06, 2018
Himanta Biswa Sarma has been elected as the president of the Badminton Association during the federation's annual general body meeting in Goa.

Himanta Biswa Sarma Elected as President of Badminton Association of India

About Sarma

He is a cabinet-ranked minister and convener of the North East Democratic Alliance (NEDA). He served as the interim president of BAI last year after the demise of former president Akhilesh Das Gupta. He will serve as the president for a term of four years.

Other Appointment

  • Former Tamil Nadu Badminton Association president and former Union minister, Anbumani Ramadoss was elected as the treasurer uncontested. Ramadoss is currently a sitting Lok Sabha MP from Dharmapuri constituency.
  • Haryana Badminton Association president Devender Singh was elected unopposed as the senior vice-president. 
  • Omar Rashid, secretary of Assam Badminton Association was elected as the secretary (events) unopposed.

Election Process

The electoral process took place under the eyes of retired Chief Justice of High Courts J&K and Sikkim, Aftab Hussain Saikia. A total of 61 votes were cast by the 31 member affiliates with each state casting two votes except for Telangana which is on a provisional affiliation. Pondicherry Badminton Association was barred from voting as they currently stand as a defunct body.

Expected Questions

Who among the following has been appointed as the President of Badminton Association of India?
a. Devender Singh
b. Himanta Biswa Sarma 
c. Anbumani Ramadoss 
d. Omar Rashid
e. Akhilesh Das 

Can I help you?

ramandeep singh

Hey I am Ramandeep Singh. I am determined to help students preparing for RBI, SEBI, NABARD and IBPS exams. Do you want me to help you ?

Join my class here
    Follow me:
Close Menu
Close Menu