New Student Offer- Use Code HELLO

Register Now

B S Yeddyurappa takes oath as Karnataka CM

Published on May 18, 2018
BJP legislature party leader B S Yeddyurappa took oath as the Chief Minister of Karnataka.

B S Yeddyurappa takes oath as Karnataka CM
  • He has been the Chief Minister of Karnataka two time prior to this.
  • He was administered the oath of office and secrecy by Governor Vajubhai Vala.
  • B S Yeddyurappa has 15 days to prove in the Karnataka Legislative Assembly the required majority to form a government.
  • His cabinet will be named only after he proves his strength in a floor test at the assembly. 
  • The BJP at present has 104 MLAs in the House, eight short of the required majority of 112 members.
  • The Congress, which won 78 seats in the elections, has allied with the JD(S), which has 37 seats.
  • The alliance had met the Governor to stake claim to form the government. 
  • It also approached the Supreme Court regarding this but the apex court refused to stay BJP’s BS Yeddyurappa swearing-in.
  • The court made it clear that the government formation would depend on the final verdict in the case.

Expected Questions

Who sworn in as the 19th CM of Karnataka?
B S Yeddyurappa

To which political party does the newly elected CM of Karnataka belongs?

Whom will B S Yeddyurappa succeed as the CM of Karnataka?

Can I help you?

ramandeep singh

Hey I am Ramandeep Singh. I am determined to help students preparing for RBI, SEBI, NABARD and IBPS exams. Do you want me to help you ?

Join my class here
    Follow me:
Close Menu
Close Menu