No Nobel Prize in Literature for 2018

Published on May 07, 2018
The Swedish Academy that awards the Nobel Prize for literature has announced that they will not give out an award this year. It has been postponed until next year in 2019.

  • It is the first time since World War II that they have delayed giving this award.
  • Seven times previously, the Swedish Academy has chosen to declare a “reserved prize”: in 1915, 1919, 1925, 1926, 1927, 1936 and 1949.
  • The two Nobel Prizes in Literature will be handed out next year, the 2018 prize and the 2019 prize. 
  • This announcement was made at a weekly meeting of the Swedish Academy in Stockholm on the grounds that the group was in too deep a crisis to choose a Nobel winner properly.
  • The decision has been taken in the wake of a sexual scandal within the Swedish Academy.
  • Last year, Japanese-born British novelist Kazuo Ishiguro had won the prize.

Expected Questions

1. Who won the Nobel Prize for Literature in 2017?
- Kazuo Ishiguro

2. Which organization is responsible for announcing he Nobel Prize for Literature?
- Swedish Academy

3. Who is the only Indian to win Nobel Prize in Literature?
- Rabindranath Tagore

4. In which year did Mother Teresa win the Nobel Peace Prize?
- 1979

Can I help you?

ramandeep singh

Hey I am Ramandeep Singh. I am determined to help students preparing for RBI, SEBI, NABARD and IBPS exams. Do you want me to help you ?

Join my class here
    Follow me:
Close Menu
Close Menu