Vaisakhi Offer- Use Code VAISAKHI24

Register Now

Baba Kalyani Heads Group to Study SEZ Policy

Published on June 08, 2018
The Government of India has formed a group of to study the Special Economic Zones (SEZ) Policy of India. The group will be headed by Baba Kalyani and it will submit its report in three months

Baba Kalyani Heads Group to Study SEZ Policy


The group will

  • Evaluate the SEZ policy
  • Suggest measures to cater to the needs of exporters 
  • Make the SEZ policy WTO compatible
  • Suggest course correction in SEZ policy
  • Make a comparative analysis of the SEZ scheme and 
  • Link the SEZ policy with other similar schemes.

Members of the group

  • Chairman: Shri Baba Kalyani, Chairman, Bharat Forge
  • Ravindra Sannareddy
  • Neel Raheja
  • Arun Misra
  • Anita Arjundas
  • Ajay Pandey
  • Srikanth Badiga,
  • Principal Secretaries (Industries) of Gujarat, Maharashtra, Telangana, Andhra Pradesh, Tamil Nadu & Karnataka
  • Additional Secretary (In-charge of SEZ Division, Department of Commerce)
  • Director (SEZ), Department of Commerce
  • Coordinating Officer

SEZ Policy

  • The Policy was first implemented from April 1, 2000 with an aim to enhance foreign investment and provide an internationally competitive and hassle free environment for exports. 
  • The Special Economic Zones Act, 2005 was passed by Parliament in 2005 and the Special Economic Zone Act was enacted. The Act provides the umbrella legal framework, covering all important legal and regulatory aspects of SEZ development as well as for units operating in SEZs. 

What is a Special Economic Zone?

A special economic zone (SEZ) is an area in which business and trade laws are different from the rest of the country.
Their aims include
  • increased trade
  • increased investment
  •  job creation and effective administration.

SEZs located in India

At present, there are eight functional SEZs in India
Santa Cruz (Maharashtra)
  • Cochin (Kerala)
  • Kandla and Surat (Gujarat)
  • Chennai (Tamil Nadu)
  • Visakhapatnam (Andhra Pradesh)
  • Falta (West Bengal) 
  • Noida (Uttar Pradesh) 
  • Indore (Madhya Pradesh) 

Expected Questions

The Government of India has formed a group of to study the Special Economic Zones (SEZ) Policy of India. The group will be headed by
a. Baba Kalyani
b. Baba Rupani
c. Baba Tasmani
d. Baba Salmani
e. None

Which of the following is not a Special Economic Zone in India?
a. Noida
b. Bengaluru
c. Kandla
d. Cochin
e. Indore
ebook store

About us

ramandeep singh

Ramandeep Singh is a seasoned educator and banking exam expert at BankExamsToday. With a passion for simplifying complex concepts, he has been instrumental in helping numerous aspirants achieve their banking career goals. His expertise and dedication make him a trusted guide in the journey to banking success.

  • Follow me:
Close Menu
Close Menu