Vaisakhi Offer- Use Code VAISAKHI24

Register Now

France Wins 2018 FIFA World Cup Football Title

Published on July 17, 2018
The European nation becomes the World Champion for the second time. France has won 2018 FIFA World Cup Football by defeating Croatia by 4-2 goals in the final match held at the 
France Wins 2018 FIFA World Cup Football Title

Luzhniki Stadium in Moscow, Russia.
  • It was France’s second World Cup crown after it won it in 1998 (by defeating Brazil) on its home soil.
  • With this, victory France joins Uruguay and Argentina in winning the World Cup for a second time.
  • It was Croatia’s first World Cup final appearance and smallest country ever to reach final in the modern era.

Goal Scores:

For France, four goals were scored by:

1. Mario Mandžukić (Croatia’s self-goal at 18 min)
2. Antoine Griezmann (38 min)
3. Paul Pogba (59 min)
4. Kylian Mbappe (65 min)

For Croatia, two goals were scored by:
1. Ivan Perišić (28 min)
2. Mario Mandzukic (69 min)

2018 FIFA World Cup Awards:

Top 4 team rankings:
France (1st, Winner)
Croatia (2nd, Croatia)
Belgium (3rd)
England (4th)
Golden Ball award:  Luka Modric (Croatia)
Golden Boot award:  Harry Kane (England captain) for scoring six goals across six games.
Golden Glove award:  Thibaut Courtois (Belgium)
FIFA Young Player award:  19-year-old Kylian Mbappe (France).
FIFA Fair Play Award: Spain for superb disciplinary record.

About the Next FIFA World Cup:

  • Qatar will be hosting next FIFA World Cup in 2022.
  • It will be the first Arab country to host World Cup and it will also for the first time will be held in the Middle East region. 

About the FIFA World Cup:

  • It is an international association football competition contested by senior men’s national teams of members of the Fédération Internationale de Football Association (FIFA), the sport’s global governing body.
  • It is held every four years since the inaugural tournament held in 1930 except in 1942 and 1946 due to World War II.
  • The total 21 World Cup tournaments played so far have been won by eight national teams.
  • Brazil has won for record five times and it is only team that has played in every World Cup.
  • Germany and Italy have each won four titles, Argentina, France and Uruguay have won two titles each.
  • England and Spain has won one title each.
ebook store

About us

ramandeep singh

Ramandeep Singh is a seasoned educator and banking exam expert at BankExamsToday. With a passion for simplifying complex concepts, he has been instrumental in helping numerous aspirants achieve their banking career goals. His expertise and dedication make him a trusted guide in the journey to banking success.

  • Follow me:
Close Menu
Close Menu