New Student Offer- Use Code HELLO

Register Now

Gopalkrishna Gandhi conferred with 2018 National Sadbhavana Award

Published on August 22, 2018
Former West Bengal Governor Gopalkrishna Gandhi was conferred with 2018 Rajiv Gandhi National Sadbhavana Award.
Gopalkrishna Gandhi conferred with 2018 National Sadbhavana Award
  • He was presented the award in New Delhi on the occasion of 74th birth anniversary of former Prime Minister Rajiv Gandhi.

Who is Gopalkrishna Gandhi?

  • He was born on 22 April 1945 and is the grandson of Father of the Nation- Mahatma Gandhi.
  • He is a retired IAS officer (Tamil Nadu cadre) and had also served as a diplomat. 
  • He was the 22nd Governor of West Bengal serving from 2004 to 2009.
  • As a former IAS officer, he had served as Secretary to President of India (1987-1992).
  • He had served as India's High Commissioner to South Africa and Sri Lanka and also held other important administrative and diplomatic posts.
  • He was the United Progressive Alliance (UPA) nominee for 2017 Vice President of India election and lost with 244 votes against NDA candidate Venkaiah Naidu, who recieved 516 votes.

About the Rajiv Gandhi National Sadbhavana Award:

  • It is awarded every year to persons for outstanding contribution towards promotion of communal harmony, national integration and peace.
  • It was instituted in 1992 by All India Congress Committee of Indian National Congress Party (INC) to commemorate the lasting contribution made by former Prime Minister Rajiv Gandhi.
  • The award carries a citation and a cash award of Rs. Ten lakhs.
  • It is given on 20 August (birth anniversary of Rajiv Gandhi), which is celebrated as Sadbhavna Diwas (Harmony Day).
  • Former recipients of the award include Mother Teresa, Ustad Bismillah Khan, Lata Mangeshkar, Mohammed Yunus, Sunil Dutt, Kapila Vatsyayan, Dilip Kumar, Teesta Setalvad, Swami Agnivesh, K.R. Narayanan, Ustad Amjad Ali Khan, Muzaffar Ali and Shubha Mudgal. 
  • In 2017, it was awarded to Former Cricketer Mohammad Azharuddin and Retired IAS Officer M.Gopala Krishna.


Q. Who has been conferred with 2018 Rajiv Gandhi National Sadbhavana Award?
a. Govindkrishna Gandhi
b. Gopalkrishna Gandhi
c. Ramkrishna Gandhi
d. None of the above

Can I help you?

ramandeep singh

Hey I am Ramandeep Singh. I am determined to help students preparing for RBI, SEBI, NABARD and IBPS exams. Do you want me to help you ?

Join my class here
    Follow me:
Close Menu
Close Menu