New Student Offer- Use Code HELLO

Register Now

First Tribal Circuit Project inaugurated in Chhattisgarh

Published on September 15, 2018
Union Ministry of Tourism has inaugurated India's first Tribal Circuit Project connecting 13 tourism sites in Chhattisgarh under the Swadesh Darshan Scheme.
First Tribal Circuit Project inaugurated in Chhattisgarh
  • The circuit connects Jashpur, Kunkuri, Mainpat, Kamleshpur, Maheshpur, Kurdar, Sarodadadar, Gangrel, Kondagaon, Nathiya Nawagaon, Jagdalpur, Chitrakoot, and Tirthgarh in Chhattisgarh.

About the Tribal Circuit Project:

  • Major components sanctioned under tribal circuit project in Chhattisgarh includes developing eco log huts, craft haats, souvenir shops, open amphitheatre, tribal interpretation centres, workshop centres, tourist amenities centres, viewpoints, nature trails, solar illuminations etc.
  • These components will improve the existing tourist facilities, enhance the overall tourist experience and help in getting more visitors which in return will increase job opportunities in the area.

Some details to look at:

  • Development of tribes and tribal culture is one of the prime area of focus for the Tourism Ministry.
  • It is carrying out an array of activities for development and promotion of tourism in the tribal region.
  • Under Tribal Circuit theme of Swadesh Darshan Scheme, Tourism Ministry has sanctioned four projects to Nagaland, Telangana and Chhattisgarh for Rs. 381.37 crore.
  • Chhattisgarh was considered for the first Tribal Circuit theme for acknowledging the sovereignty of tribes and to promote the rich and diverse primitive assets in the state.
  • Chhattisgarh is known for its exceptional scenic beauty and rich cultural heritage.
  • Tribes make up over one-third of state population who have retained their culture and traditions for centuries.

About the Swadesh Darshan scheme:

  • The scheme was launched by Union Tourism Ministry with an objective to develop theme-based tourist circuits in the country.
  • These tourist circuits will be developed on principles of high tourist value, competitiveness and sustainability in an integrated manner.
  • Under this scheme, 13 thematic circuits have been identified for development.
  • They are Buddhist Circuit, North-East India Circuit, Coastal Circuit, Himalayan Circuit, Krishna Circuit, Desert Circuit, Eco Circuit, Wildlife Circuit, Tribal Circuit, Rural Circuit, Spiritual Circuit, Ramayana Circuit and Heritage Circuit.
  • It is 100% centrally funded scheme for the project components undertaken for public funding.
  • It also has a provision for leveraging voluntary funding under Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) initiatives of Central Public Sector Undertakings and corporate sector.
  • The funding of projects under this scheme varies from state to state.
  • It is finalised on the basis of detailed project reports prepared by Programme Management Consultant (PMC) which is a national level consultant for implementing the scheme.
  • So far, Tourism Ministry has sanctioned 74 projects worth Rs. 5997.47 crore to 31 states and Union Territories under this scheme.


Q. Union Ministry of Tourism has inaugurated India's first Tribal Circuit Project connecting 13 tourism sites in which state under the Swadesh Darshan Scheme?
a. Chhattisgarh
b. Jharkhand
c. Bihar
d. Rajasthan

Can I help you?

ramandeep singh

Hey I am Ramandeep Singh. I am determined to help students preparing for RBI, SEBI, NABARD and IBPS exams. Do you want me to help you ?

Join my class here
    Follow me:
Close Menu
Close Menu