New Student User - Use Code HELLO

Register Now

Bhutan General Elections: Druk Nyamrup Tshogpa Party Got Majority

Published on October 22, 2018
Dravk Nyamrup Tshogpa Party has won the recent general elections held in Bhutan. The party won 30 of the National Assembly’s 47 seats.
Bhutan General Elections: Druk Nyamrup Tshogpa Party Got Majority

  • The National Assembly is the Lower House of Bhutan Parliament.
  • This was overall the third general election since democracy was adopted in Bhutan in 2008 and the first general elections held same year itself.


  • In 2018 general elections of Bhutan, Druk Nyamrup Tshogpa emerged largest single majority party by winning 30 seats, while Druk Fenasum Tsogoga got only 17 seats. 
  • Prime Minister Tshering Tobgay of ruling People's Democratic Party was defeated in this election.
  • In this general election, there was 71% voter turnout.
  • This poll percentage was higher than 66% in 2013.
  • Lotay Tshering, President of Druk Nyamrup Tshogpa, will be the next Prime Minister of Bhutan.


Who will be next Prime Minister of Bhutan?
a. Tshering Tobgay
b. Lotay Tshering
c. Tenzing Tshering
d. None of the above
ebook store

About us

ramandeep singh

Ramandeep Singh is a seasoned educator and banking exam expert at BankExamsToday. With a passion for simplifying complex concepts, he has been instrumental in helping numerous aspirants achieve their banking career goals. His expertise and dedication make him a trusted guide in the journey to banking success.

  • Follow me:
Close Menu
Close Menu