Maha Shivratri Offer- Use Code SHIVRATRI24

Register Now

Global Agriculture Leadership Awards- 2018

Published on October 29, 2018
Since 2008, the Global Agriculture Leadership Summit & Awards are organised by Indian Council of Food and Agriculture (ICFA) with support of Ministry of Agriculture and Farmers'
Global Agriculture Leadership Awards- 2018
Welfare; Ministry of Food Processing Industries and Ministry of Commerce.
  • The 2018 Global Agriculture Leadership Summit was 11th in this series and it was held in Hotel Hyatt Regency, New Delhi recently in October, 2018.

About Global Agriculture Leadership Awards- 2018:

  • ICFA had established the Agriculture Leadership Awards in 2008 to recognize the leadership roles played by individuals and institutions positively impacting the lives of farmers and rural masses.
  • During the recent summit, the Global Agriculture Leadership Awards- 2018 were announced and presented. The winners are as follows:

  • Prof. Rudy Rabbinge, who has received International Leadership Award is Special Envoy- Food Security, Government of Netherlands.
  • He has been awarded for his contribution in the field of food security and rural development.
  • Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister N. Chandrababu Naidu was awarded the Policy Leadership Award for his proactive policies for uplifting the farming community by focusing on irrigation, investment, global partnerships, marketing initiatives and zero budget natural farming.

Best States in Various Fields:

  • Jharkhand: Best Fisheries State
  • Bihar: Best Animal Husbandry State
  • Nagaland: Best Horticultural State
  • Gujarat: Best Agriculture State
  • Haryana: Program Leadership Award

First World Agriculture Prize – Prof. M. S. Swaminathan

  • The event witnessed bestowing of Prof. M. S. Swaminathan with the first World Agriculture Prize.
  • This prize instituted by the Indian Council of Food and Agriculture (ICFA) was presented by Vice-President Venkaiah Naidu at Vigyan Bhawan at a special session, named Swaminathan Global Dialogue on Climate Change and Food Security organised by the Indian Council of Food and Agriculture.

About Prof. M. S. Swaminathan:

  • Prof. Swaminathan is known as Father of Green Revolution in India and is renowned worldwide for his basic and applied research in genetics, cytogenetics, radiation and chemical mutagenesis, food and biodiversity conservation.
  • The United Nations Environment Programme has hailed him as 'The Father of Economic Ecology' owing to his commitment towards the ever-green revolution movement in agriculture.

About the The ICFA's World Agricultural Prize:

  • The ICFA's World Agricultural Prize carries a cash component of $1,00,000 and will recognise individuals who have served humanity through agriculture.
  • It will be an annual prize and would be presented to any individual or institution, importantly from Asian, African or Latin American countries who have played a seminal role in transforming agriculture globally and saving humanity from the curse of hunger.


Q. Who has been bestowed with the ICFA's first World Agricultural Prize?
a. Prof. M. S. Vaidyanathan
b. Prof. M. S. Ramanathan
c. Prof. M. S. Swaminathan
d. None of the above

Can I help you?

ramandeep singh

Hey I am Ramandeep Singh. I am determined to help students preparing for RBI, SEBI, NABARD and IBPS exams. Do you want me to help you ?

Join my class here
    Follow me:
Close Menu
Close Menu