New Student User- Use Code HELLO

Register Now

Rahul Dravid inducted into ICC Hall of Fame

Published on November 03, 2018
Former Indian Cricket Captain Rahul Dravid was officially inducted into the International Cricket Council's (ICC) Hall of Fame.
Rahul Dravid inducted into ICC Hall of Fame
  • He was presented a memento by the legendary opener Sunil Gavaskar at Greenfield International Stadium in Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala.
  • With this, Dravid became fifth Indian cricketer after Bishan Singh Bedi (inducted in 2009), Sunil Gavaskar (2009), Kapil Dev (2010) and Anil Kumble (2015) to be named on the elite list.
  • In July 2018, ICC had announced Rahul Dravid, Australian legend Ricky Ponting and former England's Women wicket-keeper Claire Taylor's induction into Hall of Fame during a ceremony in Dublin.
  • Ponting is 25th from Australia to receive the honour.
  • Taylor is the third female player from England to be named on the list and seventh overall.

About Rahul Dravid:

  • Dravid has scored 23,208 international runs for India across formats, including 48 hundreds and 146 fifties.
  • He has scored the runs at an average of 45.41.
  • He has scored 13,288 runs in 164 Tests, which comprises 36 centuries, and has scored 10,889 runs in 344 One Day Internationals (ODIs) with 12 centuries.
  • He has just played one Twenty20 International.
  • He was named ICC Cricketer of the Year and ICC Test Player of the Year in 2004.
  • He holds the world record for being the best slip fielder and finished his Test career in 2012 with 210 catches.

About ICC Cricket Hall of Fame:

  • It recognises the achievements of legends of the game from cricket's long and illustrious history.
  • It was launched by the International Cricket Council (ICC) of Dubai on January 2, 2009 as part of its centenary celebrations in association with Federation of International Cricketers' Associations (FICA).
  • Members of Hall of Fame assist in selection of future inductees.
  • The inaugural inductees were W. G. Grace and Graham Gooch. 
  • Former England women's cricket team captain Rachael Heyhoe-Flint was the first woman cricketer to be inducted in the Hall of Fame in 2010.


Q. Which former Indian Cricket Captain was officially inducted into the International Cricket Council's (ICC) Hall of Fame?
a. Mahendra Singh Dhoni
b. Rahul Dravid
c. Saurav Ganguly
d. None of the above
ebook store

About us

ramandeep singh

Ramandeep Singh, your guide to banking and insurance exams. With 14 years of experience and 5000+ selections, Ramandeep understands the path to success, having transitioned himself from Dena Bank and SBI. He's passionate about helping you achieve your banking and insurance dreams.

  • Follow me:
Close Menu
Close Menu