New Student User - Use Code HELLO

Register Now

Statehood Day celebrated by North-Eastern states of Arunachal Pradesh

Published on February 22, 2019
The North-Eastern states of Arunachal Pradesh and Mizoram celebrate Statehood Day on February 20.
Statehood Day celebrated by North-Eastern states of Arunachal Pradesh
  • This year Mizoram and Arunachal Pradesh celebrated the 32nd and 47th Statehood Day respectively.

History related to the Statehood of Mizoram:

  • The Statehood to Mizoram was the culmination of the struggle led by Mizo National Front (MNF), a political organisation born in 1961.
  • MNF took to armed insurrection and raised uprising against the Government, attacking the government installations at Aizawl, Lunglei, Chawngte, Chhimluang and other places demanding sovereign independence of Greater Mizoram.
  • In 1967 MNF was banned by the Government of India and this further fuelled the armed agitation led by the MNF.
  • But it did not satisfy the protestors demanding separate statehood.
  • The Memorandum of Settlement was signed between the Mizo National Front and the Indian Government on June 30, 1986, where the Mizo National Front surrendered arms and immediate arrangements were made to solidify Mizoram as a full-fledged state in India.
  • Consequently, the Indian Constitution was amended through the Mizoram State Act, 1986 and the Mizoram state came into existence.

History related to the Statehood of Arunachal Pradesh:

  • Initially, Arunachal Pradesh was directly under the Governor of the Provincial Government of Assam.
  • After the constitution came into being the Government of Assam was relieved of its responsibilities of the North East Frontier Agency and the powers were vested in the Governor of Assam, a constitutional post and an agent of the President of India.
  • NEFA was re-named as Arunachal Pradesh and subsequently, in 1972 Arunachal Pradesh became the Union Territory of the Republic of India.
  • In the year 1975 Arunachal Pradesh Council was converted into a Provisional Legislative Assembly and a council of ministers was appointed for Arunachal Pradesh.
  • Arunachal Pradesh attained full statehood on 20 February 1987 after the passing of the Constitution 55th Amendment Act.


Q. When do the North-Eastern states of Arunachal Pradesh and Mizoram celebrate Statehood Day?
a. February 17
b. February 18
c. February 19
d. February 20
ebook store

About us

ramandeep singh

Ramandeep Singh is a seasoned educator and banking exam expert at BankExamsToday. With a passion for simplifying complex concepts, he has been instrumental in helping numerous aspirants achieve their banking career goals. His expertise and dedication make him a trusted guide in the journey to banking success.

  • Follow me:
Close Menu
Close Menu