Vaisakhi Offer- Use Code VAISAKHI24

Register Now

Rana Dasgupta Awarded Rabindranath Tagore Literary Prize

Published on April 28, 2019
Author Rana Dasgupta was awarded the Rabindranath Tagore Literary Prize 2019 for his 2010 novel 'Solo' which is a tale of estrangement and the ultimate failure of material existence.
Rana Dasgupta Awarded Rabindranath Tagore Literary Prize


  • It is the second edition of the Rabindranath Tagore Literary Prize.
  • The Prize aims to revive poetry and books that can change lives.
  • The prize consists of an amount of $10,000, a Tagore statue and a certificate for contribution to literature is given to the awardee.

Other Awardees:

  • Yohei Sasakawa, the World Health Organization Goodwill Ambassador for Leprosy Elimination was awarded for the category of social achievement.
  • He was recognized for his incredible efforts to uproot Leprosy and his great contribution to world peace.
  • Taiwan President Tsai Ing-wen was awarded as a Beacon of Democracy.

About the Tagore Awards:

  • Tagore Prize is founded and launched with a strong vision to be a platform and a vehicle for improving and inspiring World Peace, Literature, Art and Education.
  • The prizes promote the culture and beauty of literature just as Rabindranath Tagore had taught us to, but also, the culture and society of tolerance, harmony and non-discrimination.

About Rabindranath Tagore:

  • Rabindranath Tagore was a Bengali polymath, poet, musician, and artist from the Indian subcontinent.
  • He reshaped Bengali literature and music, as well as Indian art with Contextual Modernism in the late 19th and early 20th centuries.
  • Author of the profoundly sensitive, fresh and beautiful verse of Gitanjali, he became the first non-European to win the Nobel Prize in Literature in 1913.
  • Tagore's poetic songs were viewed as spiritual and mercurial.
  • He is sometimes referred to as the Bard of Bengal.
  • His compositions were chosen by two nations as national anthems: India's Jana Gana Mana and Bangladesh's Amar Shonar Bangla.
  • The Sri Lankan national anthem was also inspired by his work.


Q. Which author was awarded the Rabindranath Tagore Literary Prize 2019 for his 2010 novel 'Solo'?
a. Rajesh Dasgupta
b. Rana Dasgupta
c. Rajan Dasgupta
d. Ruby Dasgupta
ebook store

About us

ramandeep singh

Ramandeep Singh is a seasoned educator and banking exam expert at BankExamsToday. With a passion for simplifying complex concepts, he has been instrumental in helping numerous aspirants achieve their banking career goals. His expertise and dedication make him a trusted guide in the journey to banking success.

  • Follow me:
Close Menu
Close Menu