Vaisakhi Offer- Use Code VAISAKHI24

Register Now

UK PM Theresa May resigns over Brexit

Published on May 26, 2019
Theresa May announced that she will resign on June 7, 2019, making her the second prime minister to quit in three years over the deeply polarising issue of Brexit in contemporary British history.


  • May took over in July 2016 after the Leave vote in the referendum on the UK's membership of the European Union prompted then Prime Minister David Cameron to resign.
  • May has since seen 36 ministers resign over her approach and the House of Commons voting down her deal three times.
  • May's announcement soon shifted focus on the new party leader and prime minister.
  • Boris Johnson, former foreign secretary, is the leading contender, while others in the race include home secretary Sajid Javid and foreign secretary Jeremy Hunt.
  • May, who will continue in office until the new leader is elected, was close to tears as she concluded her statement.

One must know:

  • May will be in office during the forthcoming state visit of US President Donald Trump from June 3.
  • The leadership contest will be triggered after her resignation on June 7.
  • The new leader will be expected to steer the Brexit process until October 31, the new deadline for the UK to leave the EU.


Q. Which UK PM has announced resignation and to leave the office on June 7, 2019 over the deeply polarising issue of Brexit?
a. David Cameron
b. Theresa May
c. Boris Johnson
d. Jeremy Hunt
ebook store

About us

ramandeep singh

Ramandeep Singh is a seasoned educator and banking exam expert at BankExamsToday. With a passion for simplifying complex concepts, he has been instrumental in helping numerous aspirants achieve their banking career goals. His expertise and dedication make him a trusted guide in the journey to banking success.

  • Follow me:
Close Menu
Close Menu