Use coupon code TOP15 on all courses


Current Affairs

Government abolished Article 370

On 5 August 2019, the central government abolished article 370 and article 35A which gives special status to the state of Jammu and Kashmir. The state is divided between two union territories - Jammu & Kashmir and Ladakh.
article 370

What is Article 35A?

  • Article 35A, which was incorporated in the Constitution by a 1954 Presidential Order, gives special rights and privileges to the citizens of Jammu and Kashmir.
  • Article 35A denies property rights to a woman who got married to a person residing out of Jammu and Kashmir.
  • Further, this section disallows the state government from hiring non-residents of the Jammu and Kashmir state. It also disallows non-residents to own immovable property in the state. 
  • Non-resident can not join any professional college run by the state government

What is Article 370?

  • Incorporated in the Constitution on October 17, 1949, Article 370 exempts J&K from the Indian Constitution and allows it to draft its own Constitution. All the provisions of the Constitution which are applicable to other states are not applicable to J-K.
  • Article 370 grants special autonomy to Jammu and Kashmir and is also temporary in nature.
Government abolished Article 370 Government abolished Article 370 Reviewed by Ramandeep Singh on August 05, 2019 Rating: 5

No comments:

Join 8,000+ readers and get free notes in your email