ISRO Chairman awarded Dr. A.P.J. Abdul Kalam Award

Published on August 16, 2019
Current context: Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) chairman K. Sivan was awarded Tamil Nadu government’s Dr A.P.J. Abdul Kalam Award on 15th August 2019.
ISRO Chairman awarded Dr. A.P.J. Abdul Kalam Award 
  • The award has been presented to him for his contribution promotion of science and technology and leading ISRO's successful launch of Chandrayaan-2 mission.
  • The Kalam award is given to honour those hailing from Tamil Nadu and who work for promoting humanities, scientific growth and students' welfare.
  • The award carries a gold medal 8 gm, Rs. 5 lakh cash and a citation which hailed K. Sivan as "Rocket Man".
  • Under his work support, ISRO successfully launched the second moon mission Chandrayan 2, on 22nd July and he was also the chief architect of a 6D trajectory simulation software SITARA.
  • The 62-year-old space scientist was a first graduate in his family and got his Bachelor's degree in engineering from the IIT Madras in 1980.
  • The first A.P.J. Abdul Kalam Award was presented by Jayalalithaa in 2015 to ISRO scientist N Valarmathi and it is given on Independence Day every year.


Q.1 Who has been awarded Dr. A.P.J. Abdul Kalam Award by the Tamil Nadu government in 2019?
a. K. Sivan (ISRO Chairman)
b. Pichai Sundararajan (Google CEO)
c. Pichai Sundararajan (President of Singapore)
d. Krishnamurthy Nooyi (CEO of PEPSICO)

About me

ramandeep singh

My name is Ramandeep Singh. I authored the Quantitative Aptitude Made Easy book. I have been providing online courses and free study material for RBI Grade B, NABARD Grade A, SEBI Grade A and Specialist Officer exams since 2013.

Subscribe to our email newsletter
Close Menu
Close Menu