Current Affairs

New Lieutenant Governors Appointed

Current context: The government has appointed the Lieutenant Governors of Jammu-Kashmir and Ladakh and Governor of Mizoram on 26th October 2019.
New Lieutenant Governors Appointed
  • 1985-batch Gujarat cadre IAS officer Girish Chandra Murmu has been appointed as Lt. Governor of Jammu-Kashmir who is currently serving as the Expenditure Secretary in the Union Finance Ministry.
  • 1977-batch IAS officer R K Mathur has been appointed as Lt. Governor of Ladakh. He has served as the Defence Secretary and is a former Chief Information Commissioner (CIC).
  • P.S. Sreedharan Pillai has been appointed the new Governor of Mizoram.
  • The incumbent Governor of the Jammu and Kashmir Satya Pal Malik has been moved to Goa.
  • Dineshwar Sharma, former interlocutor to Jammu and Kashmir has been appointed as the the administrator of Lakshadweep.
  • The Union territories of Ladakh and Jammu-Kashmir will come into existence on 31st October 2019.


Q.1 Who has been appointed as the Lieutenant Governor of the recently formed Union Territory, Ladakh?
a. R K Mathur
b. Girish Chandra Murmu
c. Satya Pal Malik
d. P.S. Sreedharan Pillai
New Lieutenant Governors Appointed New Lieutenant Governors Appointed Reviewed by Neha Verma on October 26, 2019 Rating: 5

No comments:

Join 8,000+ readers and get free notes in your email