Nobel Prize in Literature

Published on October 11, 2019
Current context: The Nobel Prize 2019 and 2018 in literature has been announced on 10th October 2019.
Nobel Prize in Literature
  • The Nobel Prize 2019 has been given to Austrian author Peter Handke and the Nobel Prize 2018 to Polish writer Olga Tokarczuk.
  • Peter Handke was awarded the prize for his work that linguistic ingenuity has explored the periphery and the specificity of human experience.
  • "Short Letter, Long Farewell" and "A Sorrow Beyond Dreams" are some notable works of Handke.
  • Olga Tokarczuk was awarded the prize for a narrative imagination that with encyclopaedic passion represents the crossing of boundaries as a form of life.
  • "The Journey of the People of the Book, was her first novel and was released in 1993.
  • Tokarczuk has also won Booker International Prize for her 2007 novel "Flights".
  • Out of 116 literature laureates honoured since 1901, Tokarczuk is the 15th woman to have won the prestigious distinction.
  • 2018 Nobel Prize in literature was delayed by a year following a scandal that included allegations of sexual misconduct.


Q.1 Who has won the Nobel Prize 2019 in Literature?
a. Olga Tokarczuk
b. Peter Handke
c. Margaret Drabble
d. Frédéric Beigbeder

Can I help you?

ramandeep singh

Hey I am Ramandeep Singh. I am determined to help students preparing for RBI, SEBI, NABARD and IBPS exams. Do you want me to help you ?

Join my class here
    Follow me:
Close Menu
Close Menu