New Student User - Use Code HELLO

Register Now

Saraswati Samman Award

Published on October 03, 2019
Current context: Vice President, M Venkaiah Naidu conferred the prestigious Saraswati Samman award, conferred by the KK Birla Foundation.
Saraswati Samman Award
  • The award was given to the Telegu poet K Siva Reddy for his collection of poems titled Pakkaki Ottigilite.
  • Pakkaki Ottigilite which was published in 2016, is an anthology of 104 poems in blank verse. It captures the responses of the poet over the evolution of his own self, the years to social change, and his dynamic relationship with the world.
  • Three awards are instituted by the KK Birla Foundation in the field of literature:
    1. Saraswati Samman
    2. Vyas Samman (for Hindi)
    3. Bihari Puraskar (for Hindi and Rajasthani writers of Rajasthan)
  • The foundation was founded in 1991 to promote Indian art and culture.
  • Chayan Parishad, or selection committee picks the awardees which includes renowned scholars and writers. The committee was headed by Subhash C Kashyap, a former secretary general of the Lok Sabha secretariat.
  • Some of the Past recipients of the Saraswati Samman include writers Vijay Tendulkar, Shamsur Rahman Faruqi and Dr Indira Parthasarathy Ramanujar, poet Harivansh Rai Bachchan.


Q.1 To whom the prestigious Saraswati Samman award was conferred to in the year 2019?
a. Poet K Siva Reddy
b. Poet Laxmi Agarwal
c. Poet Meena Alexander
d. Poet Syed Waheed Ashraf
ebook store

About us

ramandeep singh

Ramandeep Singh is a seasoned educator and banking exam expert at BankExamsToday. With a passion for simplifying complex concepts, he has been instrumental in helping numerous aspirants achieve their banking career goals. His expertise and dedication make him a trusted guide in the journey to banking success.

  • Follow me:
Close Menu
Close Menu