New Student Offer - Use Code HELLO

Register Now

National Climate Vulnerability Assessment Report

Published on April 19, 2021
Current Context: The Department of Science and Technology launched the National Climate Vulnerability Report.
National Climate Vulnerability Assessment Report
  • As per the report, 8 Eastern States of India namely, Mizoram, Bihar, West Bengal, Arunachal Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Odisha, Jharkhand and Assam are highly vulnerable to climate change.
  • The report also mentioned that these states require prioritisation of adaptation interventions.
  • The report cited reasons for each state being vulnerable to climate change. For Assam, lack of forest area per 100 rural population was marked as the reason. Even though the state has 42% of forest cover.
  • For Bihar, poor health infrastructure in 36 districts, followed by a high percentage of marginal and small operational holders in 24 districts were cited as the reasons.
  • For Jharkhand, lack of crop insurance and rainfed agriculture was the reason mentioned in the report and which has led to adding the state for vulnerable to climate change.
  • As per the report, Himachal Pradesh, Telangana, Sikkim and Punjab are termed as lower-middle vulnerable states.
  • Whereas, Uttarakhand, Haryana, Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Nagaland, Goa and Maharashtra are termed as states with low vulnerability.


Q.1 Which organisation released National Climate Vulnerability Report 2021?
a. Ministry of Environment, Forest and Climate Change
b. Department of Science and Technology
c. Council of Scientific and Industrial Research
d. NITI Aayog
ebook store

About us

ramandeep singh

Ramandeep Singh, your guide to banking and insurance exams. With 14 years of experience and 5000+ selections, Ramandeep understands the path to success, having transitioned himself from Dena Bank and SBI. He's passionate about helping you achieve your banking and insurance dreams.

  • Follow me:
Close Menu
Close Menu