New Students Offer - Use Code HELLO

Register Now

5 Countries were Elected to U.N. Security Council

Published on June 12, 2022
Current Context: The United Nations General Assembly elected Ecuador, Japan, Malta, Mozambique, and Switzerland to the U.N. Security Council for a two-year term starting on Jan. 1, 2023.
5 Countries were Elected to U.N. Security Council
  • All five candidates were running unopposed. They will replace the outgoing non-permanent members of India, Ireland, Kenya, Mexico, and Norway.
  • Among the five newly elected members, Mozambique and Switzerland have never served on the Security Council. Japan will set the record for 12 Security Council terms. Brazil is currently serving its 11th term.
  • The Security Council has 15 members, five of which are permanent ones Britain, China, France, Russia, and the United States. The 10 non-permanent seats of the council are allocated by geographic region, with five replaced each year.
  • A candidate must obtain the support of two-thirds of the UN member states present and vote at the General Assembly session to secure a non-permanent seat on the Security Council.
  • The five newly elected countries represent Africa, Asia-Pacific, Latin America and the Caribbean, and Western Europe and other states.
  • The Security Council is considered the most powerful body of the United Nations. It helps to maintain international peace and security, can make legally binding decisions, and has the power to impose sanctions and authorize the use of force.


Q.1 Which of the following country is not elected as a non-permanent member of the UN Security Council in the recently held elections?
a. Ecuador
b. Malta
c. Australia
d. Switzerland

Can I help you?

ramandeep singh

Hey I am Ramandeep Singh. I am determined to help students preparing for RBI, SEBI, NABARD and IBPS exams. Do you want me to help you ?

Join my class here
    Follow me:
Close Menu
Close Menu