New Student Offer - Use Code HELLO

Register Now

Chris Hipkins becomes the 41st PM of New Zealand

Published on January 26, 2023
Current Context: On January 25th, 2023, Chris Hipkins, leader of the Labour Party, was sworn in as the 41st Prime Minister of New Zealand by Governor-General Cindy Kiro in a ceremony held in Wellington.
Chris Hipkins becomes the 41st PM of New Zealand
  • He succeeded Jacinda Ardern, who had tendered her resignation to Governor-General Kiro on the same day. Carmel Sepuloni was also sworn in as the Deputy Prime Minister, marking the first time someone with Pacific Island heritage has held this role.
  • It should be noted that the 2023 General Election of New Zealand will take place on October 14th, 2023. Chris Hipkins has been a Member of Parliament since 2008 and has served as the Spokesperson for Education and the Minister for Covid-19.
  • He is also the Member of Parliament for Remutaka, the Minister for National Security and Intelligence, and the Minister Responsible for Ministerial Services.
  • He previously held the positions of minister for police, education, and public service under Jacinda Ardern. Ardern has resigned as Prime Minister and announced that she will not be running in the upcoming elections.
  • She is the third female Prime Minister of New Zealand after Jenny Shipley (1997-1999) and Helen Clark (1999-2008). When she was chosen as prime minister in 2017 at the age of 37, she also became the world's youngest female head of state. In 2020, she was chosen to serve as prime minister for a second time.


Q.1 Who became the 41st PM of New Zealand?
a. Ramos serfield
b. Chris Hipkins
c. Jacinda Arden
d. Chris Hanks
ebook store

About us

ramandeep singh

Ramandeep Singh, your guide to banking and insurance exams. With 14 years of experience and 5000+ selections, Ramandeep understands the path to success, having transitioned himself from Dena Bank and SBI. He's passionate about helping you achieve your banking and insurance dreams.

  • Follow me:
Close Menu
Close Menu