Election Day- Use Code DEMOCRACY24

Register Now

Hekani Jakhalu and Salhoutuonuo Kruse first women MLAs from Nagaland

Published on March 02, 2023
Current Context: Hekani Jakhalu and Salhoutuonuo Kruse are both from the Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP)They won their seats in the Nagaland Assembly elections held on March 1, 2023.
Hekani Jakhalu and Salhoutuonuo Kruse first women MLAs from Nagaland
  • Hekani Jakhalu won from Dimapur III constituency by a margin of 1536 votes. 
  • Salhoutuonuo Kruse won from Western Angami constituency by a margin of seven votes.
  • They are the first two women MLAs to be elected from Nagaland since its statehood in 1963]. Nagaland has one of the lowest female representation in politics in India.
  • Hekani Jakhalu is a lawyer who has worked with various national and international organisations, such as UNDP, UNICEF, World Bank, etc. She has also been a consultant for the Nagaland government on legal reforms and women's rights.
  • Hekani Jakhalu is also an activist who founded YouthNet, a non-profit organisation that works for youth empowerment, entrepreneurship, skill development, etc. She has received several awards and recognition for her work, such as Nari Shakti Puraskar, CNN-IBN Real Heroes Award, etc.
  • Salhoutuonuo Kruse is a former teacher who taught at various schools in Kohima district. She has also been a social worker who has been involved in various community development projects, such as water conservation, sanitation, education, etc.
  • Salhoutuonuo Kruse is also a member of the Angami Women Organisation (AWO), which is an apex body of women's groups in Angami tribe. She has been vocal about issues affecting women and children in Nagaland.


Q.1 Which party did Hekani Jakhalu and Salhoutuonuo Kruse belong to?
a. Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP)
b. Naga People’s Front (NPF)
c. Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)
d. Indian National Congress (INC)
ebook store

About us

ramandeep singh

Ramandeep Singh, your guide to banking and insurance exams. With 14 years of experience and 5000+ selections, Ramandeep understands the path to success, having transitioned himself from Dena Bank and SBI. He's passionate about helping you achieve your banking and insurance dreams.

  • Follow me:
Close Menu
Close Menu