Election Day- Use Code DEMOCRACY24

Register Now

Election Commission Scraps National Status of Trinamool Congress

Published on April 12, 2023
Current Context: The Election Commission has withdrawn the national party status from Trinamool Congress, Communist Party of India and Nationalist Congress Party. On the other hand, the commission has accorded national party status to Aam Aadmi Party.
Election Commission Scraps National Status of Trinamool Congress
  • The national party status of Trinamool Congress, Communist Party of India and Nationalist Congress Party has been withdrawn by the Election Commission, while Aam Aadmi Party has been accorded the national party status.
  • The decision to withdraw the status of TMC, CPI and NCP was taken under the provisions of the Election Symbols (Reservation and Allotment) Order 1968. The BJP, the Congress, the Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPI-M), the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), the National People's Party (NPP) and the Aam Aadmi Party are the six national parties recognized by the commission now.
  • The Representation of the People Act 1951 allows political parties registered to be recognized as a 'State Party' or a 'National Party' over time.
Gained National Party Status
    • Additionally, the Election Commission has granted national party status to the Aam Aadmi Party, following its recognition as a state party in four states, namely Delhi, Punjab, Goa, and Gujarat.
Gained State Level Party Status:
    • Tipra Motha Party in Tripura
    • Voice of the People Party in Meghalaya
    • Lok Jan shakti Party (Ram Vilas) in Nagaland
    • Loosed National Party Status
    • Trinamool Congress in the states of Manipur and Arunachal Pradesh
    • Communist Party of India in West Bengal and Odisha
    • Nationalist Congress Party in Goa, Manipur and Meghalaya
Loosed State Party Status:
    • Bharat Rashtra Samithi in Andhra Pradesh
    • Pattali Makkal Katchi in Puducherry
    • Revolutionary Socialist Party in West Bengal
    • People's Democratic Alliance in Manipur
    • Mizoram People's Conference in Mizoram


Q.1 Which party was given the status of national party?
a. Aam Admi Party

b. Trinamool Congress
c. Communist Party of India
d. Bharat Rashtra Samithi
ebook store

About us

ramandeep singh

Ramandeep Singh, your guide to banking and insurance exams. With 14 years of experience and 5000+ selections, Ramandeep understands the path to success, having transitioned himself from Dena Bank and SBI. He's passionate about helping you achieve your banking and insurance dreams.

  • Follow me:
Close Menu
Close Menu