Current Affairs

Lionel Messi Awarded 4th European Golden Shoe

Barcelona superstar Lionel Messi received his fourth European Golden Shoe award on Friday after scoring 37 times in La Liga in 2016-17.

  • Messi had also won the award in 2012-13 (46 league goals), 2011-12 (50) and 2009-10 (34)
  • Now Messi has 
  • This year's golden shoe drew him even with Real Madrid rival Cristiano Ronaldo as the award record-holders.
  • The only time a non-Spanish league player won the Golden Shoe in the last decade was when Suarez shared the prize with Ronaldo while playing for Liverpool in 2013-14. 
  • The Golden Shoe is awarded by European Sports Media, an association of European sports newspaper and magazines.

 European Golden Shoe

  • The European Golden Shoe was formerly known as the European Golden Boot.
  • It is an association football award presented each season to the leading goalscorer in league matches from the top division of every European national league. 
  • It was incepted in the 1967–68 season and was originally called Soulier d'Or, which translates from French as Golden Shoe or Boot.
  • It has been given to the top goalscorer in all European leagues that season. Originally presented by L'Équipe magazine
  • It has been awarded by the European Sports Media since the 1996–97 season.
Lionel Messi Awarded 4th European Golden Shoe Lionel Messi Awarded 4th European Golden Shoe Reviewed by Admin on November 25, 2017 Rating: 5

No comments:

Join 8,000+ readers and get free notes in your email