New Student User- Use Code HELLO

Register Now

Vidarbha Claims Maiden Ranji Trophy

Published on January 02, 2018
Vidarbha won its first ever Ranji Trophy in the 84-year long history of the Indian domestic tournament by Delhi by nine wickets at the Holkar Stadium in Indore.
Last year Gujarat had won its maiden Ranji Title and this year it is Vidarbha bagging the Ranji Trophy 2017-18 season.


Vidarbha started off in this season by qualifying from the group stage with 31 points and went on to win the Holkar Stadium finals. The key attractions were the skipper Faiz Fazal who led from the front and made it possible for the team to clinch its maiden title. Vidarbha posted a mammoth first innings total of 547 runs with Akshay Vinod Wadkar leading the way with his maiden Ranji century.
Rajneesh Gurbani took 39 wickets in the entire season which includes his 6/59 haul and a hat-trick in the finals. Dhruv Shorey’s century went in vain as Rajneesh Gurbani’s hat-trick on day two tilted the match heavily in Vidarbha’s favour.
Rajneesh Gurbani was also awarded the Man of The Match for his six-wicket haul in the first innings.

About Ranji Trophy

The Ranji Trophy is a domestic cricket championship played in India. Currently 28 teams, with 21 of the 29 states in India and Delhi having at least one representation participate in the tournament. The championship is named after first Indian cricketer who played international cricket, Ranjitsinhji, who was also known as "Ranji".  The first match of the competition was held on 4 November 1934

Expected Questions

Which team won the Ranji Trophy Tournament 2016-17?
Answer- Gujarat

When was Ranji Trophy first played?
Answer- 1934

Ranji Trophy is named after 
Answer- Kumar Shri Ranjitsinhji
ebook store

About us

ramandeep singh

Ramandeep Singh is a seasoned educator and banking exam expert at BankExamsToday. With a passion for simplifying complex concepts, he has been instrumental in helping numerous aspirants achieve their banking career goals. His expertise and dedication make him a trusted guide in the journey to banking success.

  • Follow me:
Close Menu
Close Menu