My Bday Offer- Use Code MYBDAY30

Register Now

2018 Ramon Magsaysay Award:Bharat Vatwani and Sonam Wangchuk awarded

Published on July 29, 2018
Two Indians Bharat Vatwani and Sonam Wangchuk are among the six who have been declared winners of the 2018 Ramon Magsaysay Award, often referred to as the Asian version of the Nobel Prize.
2018 Ramon Magsaysay Award :Bharat Vatwani & Sonam

Others are Youk Chhang (Cambodia), Maria de Lourdes Martins Cruz (East Timor), Howard Dee (Philippines) and Vo Thi Hoang Yen (Vietnam).
  • The winners will each receive a certificate, a medallion bearing image of late Filipino leader Ramon Magsaysay and a cash prize.
  • They will be conferred with the award during a formal presentation ceremony at the Cultural Centre in Philippines in August 2018.

Who is Bharat Vatwani?

  • He is a psychiatrist who works for mentally-ill people living on the streets in Mumbai.
  • The award recognizes his courage and compassion in embracing India’s mentally-afflicted destitutes and his dedication to work of restoring and affirming human dignity of even most ostracized.

Who is Sonam Wangchuk?

  • He is an educational reformer from Ladakh.
  • In 1988, he had founded Students’ Education and Cultural Movement of Ladakh to coach poor Ladakhi students.
  • The award recognizes his uniquely systematic, collaborative and community-driven reform of learning systems in remote Ladakh region which has helped to improve life opportunities of youths.
  • He is widely regarded as the inspiration for Aamir Khan’s character, Phunsuk Wangdu in the film '3 Idiots'.

About Ramon Magsaysay Award:

  • It is Asia’s highest honour and is often regarded as the region’s equivalent of the Nobel Prize.
  • It was established in 1957 by the trustees of the New York City based Rockefeller Brothers Fund and the Philippine Government in the memory of Philippines’ third President Ramon Magsaysay who had died in an air disaster in March 1957.
  • It is awarded annually to individuals or organizations from Asia region for their altruistic and philanthropic service.
  • It carries a Medallion bearing the likeness of the late President Ramon Magsaysay, a cash prize and a certificate.


Q1. Who are the two Indians that have been declared winners of the 2018 Ramon Magsaysay Award?
a. Irfan Pathan & Yousuf Pathan
b. P.V Sindhu & Saina Nehwal
c. Bharat Vatwani and Sonam Wangchukd. None of the above

Q2. When was the Ramon Magsaysay Award established?
a. 1947
b. 1957
c. 1967
d. 1977
ebook store

About us

ramandeep singh

Ramandeep Singh, your guide to banking and insurance exams. With 14 years of experience and 5000+ selections, Ramandeep understands the path to success, having transitioned himself from Dena Bank and SBI. He's passionate about helping you achieve your banking and insurance dreams.

  • Follow me:
Close Menu
Close Menu