My Bday Offer- Use Code MYBDAY30

Register Now

NAA Chairman Badri Narain Sharma reappointed

Published on July 26, 2019
Current context: The Appointments Committee of the cabinet chaired by PM Modi has re-appointed Badri Narain Sharma as the chairman of the National Anti-profiteering Authority (NAA).
NAA Chairman Badri Narain Sharma reappointed
  • Badri Narain Sharma, a 1985-batch IAS officer from Rajasthan, was to retire on 31st July next week but will continue as the NAA chairman for another 2 years.
  • Presently the NAA has three members -- J C Chauhan, chairman of the tax tribunal, Himachal Pradesh; and Indian Revenue Service officers Amand Shah and R Bhagyadevi.
  • The Union Cabinet constituted the NAA (five-member authority) under Section 171 of the Central Goods and Services Tax Act, 2017 to ensure that the benefits of GST mainly the reduction in the rate of tax or the benefit of the input tax credit is passed on to the consumers.
  • The complaints of local nature are first sent to the screening committee at state-level, and those of national level are sent to the standing committee, under the GST anti-profiteering mechanism.
  • The NAA has the authority to cancel the registration of an entity/business if it fails to pass on the benefits of lower taxes under the GST to consumers.


Q.1 Who is the present chairman of the National Anti-profiteering Authority (NAA)?
a. Amand Shah
b. R Bhagyadevi
c. Badri Narain Sharma
d. J C Chauhan
ebook store

About us

ramandeep singh

Ramandeep Singh, your guide to banking and insurance exams. With 14 years of experience and 5000+ selections, Ramandeep understands the path to success, having transitioned himself from Dena Bank and SBI. He's passionate about helping you achieve your banking and insurance dreams.

  • Follow me:
Close Menu
Close Menu