Use coupon code TOP15 on all courses


Current Affairs

Rajiv Kumar appointed as the Finance Secretary

Current context: The Appointments Committee of Cabinet has appointed Rajiv Kumar as the finance secretary, Ministry of Finance.
Rajiv Kumar appointed as the Finance Secretary
  • The finance secretary is the senior-most among the 5 divisions of the finance ministry namely, revenue, economic affairs, department of investment and public asset management (DIPAM), financial services, expenditure.
  • Rajiv Kumar is a 1984-batch IAS officer from Jharkhand cadre and succeeded 1983 batch Indian Administrative Service (IAS) officer Subhash Chandra Garg who has been appointed as the Power secretary.
  • The Department of Financial Services looks into the functioning and performance of banks, insurance companies, financial institutions and the pension system.
  • The department also plays a major role in ensuring credit flow to crucial sectors like MSMEs, farms as well as individuals.
  • Rajiv Kumar is on the board of the country’s largest state-owned bank State Bank of India (SBI) and the banking regulator RBI.


Q.1 Who is the present Finance Secretary of the Department of Financial Services under the Ministry of Finance?
a. Rajiv Kumar
b. Subhash Chandra Garg
c. Ajay Bhushan Pandey
d. Atanu Chakraborty
Rajiv Kumar appointed as the Finance Secretary Rajiv Kumar appointed as the Finance Secretary Reviewed by Neha Verma on July 31, 2019 Rating: 5

No comments:

Join 8,000+ readers and get free notes in your email