Inter-State Council Reconstituted with PM

Published on August 15, 2019
Current context: The Inter-State Council, which advises and investigates on states disputes, was reconstituted on 14th August 2019.
Inter-State Council Reconstituted with PM
  • The council is chaired by Prime Minister Narendra Modi and six Union ministers and all chief ministers are its members.
  • The Union ministers including Amit Shah (Home), Narendra Singh Tomar (Minister of Agriculture and Farmers Welfare, Rural Development and Panchayati Raj), Rajnath Singh (Defence), Nirmala Sitharaman (Finance), will be members of the reconstituted council.
  • Chief ministers of all states and Union territories having legislative assemblies and administrators of the Union territories not having a legislative assembly will also be members of the council.
  • The Article 263 of the Constitution contains the provisions for the establishment of an Inter-State Council which is mandated to advise upon and inquire into states disputes, investigate and discuss subjects in which the Union and one or more of the states, some or all of the states, have a common interest.
  • The standing committee will recommend matters pertaining to Centre-state relations for consideration of the council.


Q.1 Who is the chairman of the Inter-State Council?
a. Chief Minister of the concerned state
b. Governor of the concerned state
c. Prime Minister
d. President

Can I help you?

ramandeep singh

Hey I am Ramandeep Singh. I am determined to help students preparing for RBI, SEBI, NABARD and IBPS exams. Do you want me to help you ?

Join my class here
    Follow me:
Close Menu
Close Menu