Vaisakhi Offer- Use Code VAISAKHI24

Register Now

Nobel Prize for Chemistry 2019

Published on October 13, 2019
Current context: The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has announced the Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2019 on 9th October 2019.
Nobel Prize for Chemistry 2019
  • The 2019 Nobel Prize for Chemistry is given to three scientists Stanley Whittingham, John Goodenough and Akira Yoshino.
  • The three scientists have been jointly awarded the coveted prize for their development of lithium-ion batteries.
  • They laid the foundation of a wireless and fossil-fuel-free society, taking a step for making a rechargeable world.
  • John Goodenough (from University of Texas) is the oldest laureate ever awarded a Nobel Prize.
  • The foundation of the lithium-ion battery was laid during the oil crisis in the 1970s.
  • Stanley Whittingham started to research superconductors and discovered an extremely energy-rich material made from titanium disulphide having far greater potential.
  • John Goodenough replaced the cathode in the Lithium-ion battery made of metal sulphide by using a metal oxide to make more powerful batteries.
  • Akira Yoshino created the first commercially viable lithium-ion battery in 1985. He used petroleum coke, instead of reactive lithium in the anode, that resulted in a battery that could be charged hundreds of times before its performance deteriorated.


Q.1 The Nobel Prize 2019 in Chemistry was awarded for? 
a. Development of rechargeable Helium batteries
b. Development of lithium-ion batteries
c. For discovering the power of evolution through enzymes
d. For discovering the evolution in plants through chlorophyll
ebook store

About us

ramandeep singh

Ramandeep Singh is a seasoned educator and banking exam expert at BankExamsToday. With a passion for simplifying complex concepts, he has been instrumental in helping numerous aspirants achieve their banking career goals. His expertise and dedication make him a trusted guide in the journey to banking success.

  • Follow me:
Close Menu
Close Menu