Use coupon code TOP15 on all courses


Current Affairs

Nobel Prize in Physics

Current context: The Nobel Prize 2019 for Physics has been announced on 8th October 2019.
Nobel Prize in Physics 
  • The prize is given to three scientists Michel Mayor, James Peebles and Didier Queloz.
  • The award is given for their contribution to the understanding of the evolution of the universe and earth's place in the cosmos.
  • The award is divided into 2 parts:
    1. One half of the award was given to James Peebles for theoretical discoveries in physical cosmology.
    2. The other half of the award is given jointly to Michel Mayor and Didier Queloz for the discovery of an exoplanet orbiting a solar-type star (An exoplanet is a planet outside the solar system).
  • A gold medal, 9-million kronor cash award and a diploma would be shared between the three and is given at a ceremony in Stockholm on 10th December.
  • The award was announced by Prof. Goran Hansson, secretary-general of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences.
  • This was the 113th Nobel Prize in Physics awarded since 1901.


Q.1 Who has received the Nobel Prize 2019 for Physics? 
a. Michel Mayor
b. James Peebles
c. Didier Queloz
d. All a, b and c
e. None of them
Nobel Prize in Physics Nobel Prize in Physics Reviewed by Neha Verma on October 09, 2019 Rating: 5

No comments:

Join 8,000+ readers and get free notes in your email