New Student Offer - Use Code HELLO

Register Now

Arunachal Pradesh & Mizoram Statehood Day

Published on February 20, 2020
Current context: The states of Arunachal Pradesh and Mizoram are celebrating their statehood day on 20th Feb 2020.
Arunachal Pradesh & Mizoram Statehood Day
  • Arunachal Pradesh was granted statehood on this day in 1987 and Mizoram was declared a state in 1972.
  • Statehood of Arunachal Pradesh:
    1. The North East Frontier Agency (NEFA) was created in 1954.
    2. In 1972, it became the Union Territory of Arunachal Pradesh.
    3. Its administrative headquarters was Shillong until 1974, when it was transferred to Itanagar.
    4. Arunachal received statehood in 1987.
    5. The Northeast Areas (Reorganisation) Act, 1971 provided a new name and new political status to NEFA and it was renamed as Arunachal Pradesh.
    6. Subsequently in 1972 Arunachal Pradesh became the Union Territory of the Republic of India.
  • Statehood of Mizoram:
    1. Mizoram was declared Union Territory in 1972 and in 1986 became a full-fledged federal state of Indian Union.
    2. The political organisation named Mizo National Front was born in 1961.
    3. The Mizo National Front was outlawed in 1967.
    4. The Indian government offered to convert the Mizo Hills into a Union Territory in July 1971
    5. On 21 January, 1972, the official declaration of the Union Territory was made with the name Mizoram.
  • Arunachal Pradesh Capital: Itanagar
  • Governor: B.D. Mishra
  • Chief minister: Pema Khandu
  • Mizoram Capital: Aizawl
  • Governor: P. S. Sreedharan Pillai
  • Chief minister: Zoramthanga


Q.1 The statehood day of Arunachal Pradesh was recently observed on?
a. 2nd February
b. 20th February
c. 21st February
d. 22nd February
ebook store

About us

ramandeep singh

Ramandeep Singh, your guide to banking and insurance exams. With 14 years of experience and 5000+ selections, Ramandeep understands the path to success, having transitioned himself from Dena Bank and SBI. He's passionate about helping you achieve your banking and insurance dreams.

  • Follow me:
Close Menu
Close Menu