Use coupon code TOP15 on all courses


Current Affairs

Manpreet Singh: Player of the Year 2019

Current context: The International Hockey Federation named Indian men's hockey team captain Manpreet Singh, Player of the Year for 2019 on 13th February 2020.
Manpreet Singh: Player of the Year 2019 
  • Manpreet Singh is the first Indian to win the accolade since the awards were introduced in 1999.
  • Belgium's Arthur van Dorren and Lucas Villa of Argentina came second and third respectively in the ranking.
  • Manpreet polled a total of 35.2% of combined votes of National Associations, media, fans and players.
  • Manpreet made his debut in 2011 and had represented India at 2012 London and 2016 Rio Olympics and presently has 260 international appearances under his belt.
  • Midfielder Vivek Sagar Prasad won the FIH Male Rising Star of the year award and striker Lalremsiami bagged the 2019 FIH Women's Rising Star of Year recognition.


Q.1 Which Indian sportsperson has recently won the FIH Player of the Year Award for the first time since its inception in 1999?
a. Vivek Sagar Prasad
b. Manpreet Singh
c. Lalremsiami
d. Mukesh Kumar
Manpreet Singh: Player of the Year 2019 Manpreet Singh: Player of the Year 2019 Reviewed by Neha Verma on February 14, 2020 Rating: 5

No comments:

Join 8,000+ readers and get free notes in your email