UNEP Champions Of The Earth Award 2020

Published on December 16, 2020
Current Context: The United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) has announced the recipients of Champions of Earth Award 2020.
UNEP Champions Of The Earth Award 2020
  • The Champions of Earth Award is termed to be the UN’s highest honour in the environment field. 
  • Following are the winners in each category:




Policy Leadership

Frank Bainimarama (PM of Fiji)

Global  climate action work and  commitment to climate-responsive national development

Inspiration and Action

Nemonte Nenquimo (Ecuador)

Leadership work with indigenous communities that halted drilling in Ecuador’s Amazon rainforest

Inspiration and Action

Yacouba Sawadogo (Burkina Faso)

For teaching farmers about his traditional nature-based solution to regenerate their soil and turn barren land into arable land and forest across Africa

Science and Innovation

Dr Fabian Leendertz (Germany)

Discovery in zoonotic and his work in One Health

Entrepreneur Vision

Mindy Lubber (USA)

For commitment to convert capital markets green by mobilizing top investors and companies and for making the business case for climate action and sustainability

Champion of the Earth  Lifetime Achievement Award

Prof.Robert D Bullard (USA)

Commitment and service to environmental justice

  • Static Part: 
    • HQ of UNEP: Nairobi Kenya


Q.1 Who among the following is awarded Champion of the Earth Lifetime Achievement Award 2020?
a. Prof.Robert D Bullard
b. Frank Bainimarama
c. Nemonte Nenquimo
d. Mindy Lubber

Can I help you?

ramandeep singh

Hey I am Ramandeep Singh. I am determined to help students preparing for RBI, SEBI, NABARD and IBPS exams. Do you want me to help you ?

Join my class here
    Follow me:
Close Menu
Close Menu