New Student Offer - HELLO

Join Here

Rajiv Kumar Appointed as Next Chief Election Commissioner

Published on May 13, 2022
Current Context: The President appointed Shri Rajiv Kumar, as the 25th Chief Election Commissioner of India.
Rajiv Kumar Appointed as Next Chief Election Commissioner
  • Shri Rajiv Kumar will assume the charge from the 15th of May 2022.
  • He is a 1984 batch IAS officer from Bihar/Jharkhand cadre.
  • Kumar will oversee several upcoming crucial elections in his tenure as CEC, like the Presidential and Vice Presidential polls in July followed by assembly elections than the 2024 Lok Sabha elections.
  • Prior to assuming charge within the committee, Kumar had been the chairman of the general public Enterprises Selection Board. He joined because the PESB chairman in April 2020.
  • Static Part
    • Article 324:
      • Under article 324, the constitution provides the Election Commission of India with the ability to direction, superintendence, and control elections to parliament, state legislatures, the office of president of India, and also the office of vice-president of India.
      • Election Commission: Constitutional Body.
      • Established: 25th January 1950.
      • Present CEC: Sushil Chandra as of May 13th, Later Rajiv Kumar will assume charge


Q.1 Who has been appointed as the chief election commissioner of India?
a. Rajiv Kumar
b. T. Swaminathan
c. N. Gopalaswami
d. T.N Seshan
ebook store

About us

ramandeep singh

Ramandeep Singh, your guide to banking and insurance exams. With 14 years of experience and 5000+ selections, Ramandeep understands the path to success, having transitioned himself from Dena Bank and SBI. He's passionate about helping you achieve your banking and insurance dreams.

  • Follow me:
Close Menu
Close Menu