New Student User - Use Code HELLO

Register Now

Justice DY Chandrachud Executive Chairperson of NALSA

Published on September 04, 2022
Current Context: The President of India, Draupadi Murmu, nominated Supreme Court judge Justice DY Chandrachud as the next executive chairperson of the National Legal Services Authority (NALSA).
Justice DY Chandrachud Executive Chairperson of NALSA
  • Justice Chandrachud was nominated as Justice UU Lalit, who was the Executive Chairperson of the NALSA and became the 49th Chief Justice of India (CJI).
  • Justice Chandrachud is next in line, after UU Lalit, to become the 50th CJI.
  • Justice Chandrachud has also served as the Chief Justice of the Allahabad High Court and a judge of the Bombay High Court, before being elevated as a judge of the Supreme Court.
  • NALSA was constituted under the Legal Services Authorities Act, 1987 to provide free Legal Services to the weaker sections of society and to organize Lok Adalats for settlement of disputes.
  • The senior-most judge of the SC, i.e., the CJI (presently Justice UU Lalit), is the Patron-in-Chief of NALSA while the second senior-most judge of the SC (presently Justice DY Chandrachud) is the executive chairperson of NALSA.


Q.1 Who is currently the Patron-in-Chief of NALSA?
a. DY Chandrachud
b. MM Naravane
c. SA Bobde
d. UU Lalit

Can I help you?

ramandeep singh

Hey I am Ramandeep Singh. I am determined to help students preparing for RBI, SEBI, NABARD and IBPS exams. Do you want me to help you ?

Join my class here
    Follow me:
Close Menu
Close Menu