New Students Offer - Use Code HELLO

Register Now

Russia Annexes Parts of Ukraine

Published on October 01, 2022
Current Context: In a ceremony, presided over by Russian President Vladimir Putin, four Ukrainian regions were annexed.
Russia Annexes Parts of Ukraine
  • The four Ukrainian territories formally annexed by Russia are:
  1. Donetsk
  2. Luhansk
  3. Zaporizhzhia
  4. Kherson
  • After this annexation, the Russian administration will have partial control over 15% of the Ukrainian region.
  • These regions have a historic connection with Russia and many people in Eastern Ukraine are of Russian ethnicity and Russian-speaking population.
  • A referendum was organized in these regions by the Russian government and according to Moscow, the people overwhelmingly supported the annexation.
  • Vladimir Putin also signed “accession treaties” to formalize annexations at a ceremony in Grand Kremlin Palace in Moscow.
  • The West (Europe and North America) called the referendum rigged and illegal that was orchestrated by the Russian government.


Q.1 Which of the following regions were NOT annexed by Russia?
a. Donetsk
b. Kiev
c. Luhansk
d. Kherson

Can I help you?

ramandeep singh

Hey I am Ramandeep Singh. I am determined to help students preparing for RBI, SEBI, NABARD and IBPS exams. Do you want me to help you ?

Join my class here
    Follow me:
Close Menu
Close Menu