New Students Offer - Use Code HELLO

Register Now

17th Wildlife Sanctuary of India

Published on November 15, 2022
Current Context: The MK Stalin-led Tamil Nadu government notified the Cauvery South Wildlife Sanctuary as the state’s 17th wildlife sanctuary.
17th Wildlife Sanctuary of India
  • The notification was issued under Section 26A (1) (b) of the Wildlife Protection Act 1972.
  • The Cauvery South Wildlife Sanctuary is spread over an area of 68,640 hectares.
  • Out of the total notified area, 686.406 square kilometres area along the forest constitutes Cauvery North Wildlife Sanctuary, shared between Tamil Nadu and Karnataka.
  • It covers reserve forest areas in the Krishnagiri and Dharmapuri districts of Tamil Nadu.
  • The primary objective of the declaration is to safeguard the area’s unique ecological, floral, and faunal significance.
  • It is famous for over 35 species of mammals and 238 species of birds like:
  1. Grizzled giant squirrel
  2. Lesser Fish Eagle
  3. Smooth-coated otters
  4. Four-horned antelope
  5. Marsh crocodile
  6. Soft-shelled turtles


Q.1 The Cauvery South Wildlife Sanctuary is located in which of the following state?
a. Kerala
b. Tamil Nadu
c. Andhra Pradesh
d. Telangana

Can I help you?

ramandeep singh

Hey I am Ramandeep Singh. I am determined to help students preparing for RBI, SEBI, NABARD and IBPS exams. Do you want me to help you ?

Join my class here
    Follow me:
Close Menu
Close Menu