New Student Offer - Use Code HELLO

Register Now

Spain Defeated England to win their 1st Women’s World Cup

Published on August 22, 2023
Current Context: FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023 was ended with a historic victory for Spain, who won their first ever title by defeating England 1-0 in the final. The final was played at Stadium Australia in Sydney, with a crowd of 75,784 spectators .
Spain Defeated England to win their 1st Women’s World Cup
  • The only goal of the match was scored by Spain’s captain Olga Carmona in the 29th minute, after a swift counterattack and a precise pass from Mariona Caldentey .
  • Spain dominated the possession and created more chances than England, who struggled to break down their defense. Earps made several saves to deny Spain a second goal .
  • Spain became the first team to win all three FIFA women’s titles at U-17, U-20 and senior level. They also avenged their 4-0 defeat by Japan in the group stage, which was their only loss in the tournament .
  • Aitana Bonmatí was named the player of the tournament, while Vivianne Miedema won the golden boot with 10 goals. The fair play award went to Sweden, who finished third after beating Australia 2-1 in the bronze medal match.


Q.1 Which team won their first ever FIFA Women’s World Cup title in 2023?
a. England
b. Sweden
c. Spain
d. Australia
ebook store

About us

ramandeep singh

Ramandeep Singh, your guide to banking and insurance exams. With 14 years of experience and 5000+ selections, Ramandeep understands the path to success, having transitioned himself from Dena Bank and SBI. He's passionate about helping you achieve your banking and insurance dreams.

  • Follow me:
Close Menu
Close Menu